Stop “Shoulding” on my Parade

We have over 40,000 thoughts per day. Creating a habit of writing down your thoughts every day can lead to some very interesting discoveries.

This week I spent a lot of time doing thought downloads and noticed something interesting. I use key words and phrases quite a bit in my thoughts. Some of my favorites apparently are “I should” and “They should”.

My “I should” thoughts lead to feelings of doubt, shame, guilt, uncertainty, or inadequacy depending on what follows those two little words. None these feelings end up with actions that lead to great results.

What’s even more interesting is where the “They should” thoughts lead. Those two gems lead to feeling victimized, judgemental, or superior. The three things in life that just happen to be my pet peeves. I had no idea I was even doing this.

I have decided that I’m going to figure out a way to remove these two phrases from my thought vocabulary. I’m sure it will not be easy and that it will take a long time, but I’m committed to stop “shoulding” on my parade.

Are you “shoulding” on your own parade?

Leave a comment